Saturday, May 27, 2017

Recent Updates and Currently Reading | May 27

Schooooool's out for summer!

My kids are officially out for summer. No more homework, no more books, no more teacher's dirty looks! It's possible I'm more excited than my kids.

Posted Last Week


Book Review | The Boy on the Bridge by M.R. Carey

Currently Reading


Night Film by Marisha Pessl Gwendy's Button Box by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar

I'm currently reading Night Film by Marisha Pessl and Gwendy's Button Box by Stephen King and Richard Chizmar.

You will see Night Film in my updates again. I don't think it's a slow read, but it's going to take me forever. I'm hanging on to every detail, every picture, every article in the book.

I had planned to finish Gwendy's Button Box last night, but after a long day at the beach my bed felt too amazing.

Review Copies



In the Valley of the Sun by Andy Davidson - For readers of Joe Hill, Cormac McCarthy, and classic Anne Rice, a chilling tale of suspense and horror set deep in the Texas desert. OK, seriously. It sounds amazing, and it's getting fantastic reviews. This will totally be my next read.

Meddling Kids by Edgar Cantero - The surviving members of a forgotten teenage detective club (and their dog) must reunite as broken adults to finally solve the terrifying case that ruined them all and sent the wrong man to prison. Scooby Doo and the gang never had to do this! I've mentioned Meddling Kids before, but I just got a galley for it in the mail so I'm mentioning it again. I'm super excited about this one.

Current Distractions



I finished Orphan Black season 3. This season was kind of all over the place with the exception of Alison and Donny. How hilarious are they? The actress that plays *everyone* continues to blow my mind. Sarah, Alison, and Cosima in particular are all such solid, individual characters. Season 3 ends with the worm thing so I have no idea what is in store for season 4. Probably some pretty weird stuff.

So what about you? Let me know what you're reading (or watching) this week or leave me some links!


This post is being shared as part of Book Date's It's Monday! What Are You Reading?, Tynga's Reviews' Stacking the Shelves, and Caffeinated Book Reviewer's The Sunday Post.

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Book Review | The Boy on the Bridge by M.R. Carey

The Boy on the Bridge is the prequel to M.R. Carey's The Girl with All the Gifts.

The Boy on the Bridge by M.R. Carey

Once upon a time, in a land blighted by terror, there was a very clever boy.

The people thought the boy could save them, so they opened their gates and sent him out into the world.

To where the monsters lived.
I'm glad to see The Boy on the Bridge is getting rave reviews. I'm not sure why it didn't work as well for me. There were some good moments, but as a whole I had a hard time sustaining excitement for it.

I'm a huge fan of The Girl with All the Gifts. If you haven't read that one yet, I highly recommend it.

I'm not sure the beginning of this book would pull in folks who haven't already read Girl. I felt like the only thing sustaining me in the beginning was my previous knowledge of the world and the virus. My biggest problem while reading Boy was how much my mind was consistently able to wander and ponder such things. It felt like the good moments were reeling me back in. For whatever reason, I wasn't able to connect to the story until I was about 80% in.

I did enjoy the ending of The Boy on the Bridge. I'm glad I read it, and I will happily read more books set in this world. Unfortunately, I was bored throughout a lot of the book which is why my rating is very middle of the road.

If you loved The Girl with All the Gifts, The Boy on the Bridge would certainly be worth checking out from your library. Based on the other reviews I've seen, it's likely you'll enjoy it more than I'm leading you to believe.

5/10: Decent Read

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Pinterest!

 
Powered by Blogger