Tuesday, July 23, 2019

Book Review | Wanderers by Chuck Wendig

Wanderers is an apocalyptic novel by Chuck Wendig.



A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other “shepherds” who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead.

For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them–and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them–the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart–or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world.

My experience with Wanderers was an interesting one. I was absolutely hooked when I started reading it. Chuck Wendig is a great writer!

Wanderers has everything: a large cast, an apocalyptic disease, a broad setting, artificial intelligence... I was here for it! The only problem is it was so epic for so long that I never really connected with anyone. I hit a wall when I got to 80%. Normally this would be something I could overcome, but Wanderers weighs in at 800 pages. I started making excuses: it's summer, I'm reading it on the Kindle, etc. By the time I got to 95%, though, I knew it wasn't me. As epic as Wanderers was, it didn't matter to me the ultimate fate of anyone. I would have felt the exact same way no matter what the outcome was.

I feel like most people won't have the problem that I did. Wanderers is really great on a lot of levels, I just personally never connected with it.

⭐⭐⭐★★

Review copy provided by publisher

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

Monday, July 22, 2019

2019 Mid Year Book Freak Out Tag

I've decided to follow Mogsy's lead and do the Mid Year Book Freak Out tag this year. Book covers are linked to Goodreads.

Best Books I’ve Read So Far


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42505366-wilder-girls https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40696751-the-luminous-dead https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40539807-the-wolf-and-the-watchman
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40244203-exploring-dark-short-fiction-2 https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10616.The_House_Next_Door https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38232344-in-an-absent-dream

I love the fact that The Luminous Dead is on my best books list and on Mogsy's biggest disappointments list. This year has been rough in the horror community with people speaking out against negative reviews. I often retreat into my blogging bubble and this is why. I love you guys.

Biggest Disappointments


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36560817-i-wrote-this-for-you https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25499718-children-of-time https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/432394.Wuthering_Heights

I enjoyed both Children of Time and Wuthering Heights, but I expected to love them and didn't quite make it there.

Biggest Surprises


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40539807-the-wolf-and-the-watchman https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13872.Geek_Love https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40381927-the-last

I recommend each of these books!

Favorite New Authors


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42505366-wilder-girls https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40696751-the-luminous-dead https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40244203-exploring-dark-short-fiction-2

More, please. I need mooooore.

Books That Made Me Cry


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/38232344-in-an-absent-dream https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/905246.The_Between https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/37841335-without-condition

Each of these books touched me in different ways.

Books That Made Me Happy


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36565384-wolfhunter-river https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/28015101-thrill-me https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11534513-dinosaurios-al-atardecer

I found some happiness in each of these books this year.

Best Book To Film Adaptation


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/10616.The_House_Next_Door https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/233661.Carrie https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/941315.Ghost_Story

I'm cheating because I haven't seen the adaptations for The House Next Door or Ghost Story, but they have been adapted and I loved reading the books this year.

Favorite Post


I'm going to select my 2019 TBR Jar post because it makes me happy each time I finally sit down with one of the books from this list.

Books I Need to Read By the End of the Year


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35068705-the-poppy-war https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/42046112-recursion https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/36911680-the-saturday-night-ghost-club

How did the first half of the year go for you? Let me know which books would make your list and consider yourself tagged!

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

Sunday, July 21, 2019

Recent Updates and Currently Reading | July 21

*blink* Where did last week go? Come back summer, come baaaaaaack.

Finished Reading



Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë - Wuthering Heights turned out to be more difficult than I was expecting. I think that's why I managed no reviews and no other books this past week. I haven't decided yet where my final rating is going to land.

Currently Reading



I'm enjoying House of Furies by Madeleine Roux. It's quite different than I was expecting. I think the cover change was appropriate.

Poetry Magazine July/August 2019 - I'm also really enjoying the July/August Poetry Magazine collection.

Recent Acquisitions



Many thanks to Inkshares for sending me a copy of Violet by Scott Thomas! This is his follow up to Kill Creek, and I can't wait to read it!

Choking Back the Devil by Donna Lynch - My preorder of Choking Back the Devil arrived this week. (Honestly, I can't get enough of discovering Ladies of Horror Fiction in print.)

So what about you? Let me know what you're reading this week or leave me some links!


This post is being shared as part of Book Date's It's Monday! What Are You Reading? and Caffeinated Book Reviewer's The Sunday Post.

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

Sunday, July 14, 2019

Recent Updates and Currently Reading | July 14

The last couple of weeks have been so busy at the Book Den household! My most important piece of news is introducing you to Miss Posie.


A month ago we saw her get hit on the way to work. We were able to bring her to our vet where she had to have some minor surgeries and stay for a few weeks until they thought she was far enough into her recovery for us to take over. We were finally able to bring her home at the end of last week. She is absolutely precious. She still has another month or two of recovery, but she should be totally fine once she's healed up.

Posted Last Week


No posts! Between taking care of Posie and migrating the Ladies of Horror Fiction site to a new host, I'm behind again! I plan to write a couple of reviews and do some blog hopping today while watching the Wimbledon Men's Finals so stay tuned.

Finished Reading



Wanderers by Chuck Wendig - I'm planning to have a more detailed review out this week, but in a strange turn of events, I think I'm only giving Wanderers ⭐⭐⭐★★. It's an epic read, but there was something missing for me.

Wilder Girls by Rory Power ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ - My preorder for Wilder Girls arrived this week, and I was glued to it. As much as I love stand alone books, I'm hoping, hoping, hoping this turns into a series. This was a buddy read with Emily, and she gave it 5⭐s, too.

Currently Reading



After reading and loving Rebecca last year, several of the Ladies of Horror Fiction team made plans to read Wuthering Heights. That week is finally here!

Recent Acquisitions



Salvation Day by Kali Wallace - My dear friend Toni from Misadventures of a Reader knows I love Kali Wallace so she sent me a copy of Salvation Day. I can't wait to read it!

The Saturday Night Ghost Club by Craig Davidson - Coming of age horror is my favorite so you know I've been waiting for this preorder! Craig Davidson is also known as Nick Cutter.

Poetry Magazine July/August 2019 - I subscribed to Poetry Magazine, and I'm so glad I did! They sent out 11 book length collections a year. This edition (July/August) collects Global Indian English poetry.



Many thanks to Wunderkind PR and HarperTeen for sending me the House of Furies series to review!

So what about you? Let me know what you're reading this week or leave me some links!


This post is being shared as part of Book Date's It's Monday! What Are You Reading? and Caffeinated Book Reviewer's The Sunday Post.

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

Sunday, June 30, 2019

Recent Updates and Currently Reading | June 30

We are hosting a giveaway of the entire House of Furies series over at Ladies of Horror Fiction. Be sure to go enter!


We also started a Goodreads group recently so be sure to check that out, too! I would love for you to join.

Posted Last Week


I posted reviews last week!

Book Review | The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon ⭐⭐⭐★★

Book Review | Five Midnights by Ann Dávila Cardinal ⭐⭐⭐★★

Currently Reading



Wanderers by Chuck Wendig - I started reading Wanderers this weekend, and I'm loving it! If you love post-apocalytic novels, stay tuned for this one.

Recent Acquisitions



Many thanks to Quirkbooks for sending a promotional package for the paperback release of We Sold Our Souls! We Sold Our Souls is a fun read {my review}. They also sent a chocolate CD, sticker, and fireballs.

I'm trying really hard to be review copy free, but I could not resist grabbing A Hero Born from Netgalley. A Chinese Lord of the Rings? I'm not missing that one.

So what about you? Let me know what you're reading this week or leave me some links!


This post is being shared as part of Book Date's It's Monday! What Are You Reading? and Caffeinated Book Reviewer's The Sunday Post.

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Pinterest!

 
Powered by Blogger