Tuesday, June 6, 2017

Book Review | The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

The Cutaway is a mystery novel from Christina Kovac.

The Cutaway by Christina Kovac

The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl, Luckiest Girl Alive, and Big Little Lies, The Cutaway is a striking debut that will haunt you long after you reach the last page.

...in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

Harkening to dark thrillers such as Gone Girl...

Can we please stop comparing books to Gone Girl? My expectations were so wrong for this book. I went into it expecting a psychological thriller I wouldn't be able to put down.

That was not the case.

A TV news reporter is investigating a missing woman in The Cutaway, but we aren't really given any details about the missing woman for the first 20% or so of the book. Instead we are given TV news and family drama.

I tried to adjust my expectations when it became painfully clear this book wasn't even a psychological thriller, but I was already wanting to move on. By that point I was reading from a place of obligation, not a place of excitement or want for the story.

My theme while reading The Cutaway was who cares? I wasn't invested in anyone. I knew there was a missing woman, but so? I had no reason to care about her.

I don't know if The Cutaway was a bad book or if I was simply set up to be a bad reader, but I do know it didn't work for me. If you decide to give this one a try, note that it is very much a standard mystery novel (with a lot of time spent interviewing witnesses) and not a psychological thriller.

4/10: Not for me

Review copy provided by publisher

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

11 comments:

  1. I know, right?! I keep seeing books compared to Gone Girl everywhere! They can't all be like it! Ugh! I hate that marketing ploy.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hate it, too. I want to say "I'll never read another book that's compared to Gone Girl!!", but seriously... who am I kidding? LOL.

      Delete
  2. Not good when a supposed psychological thriller isn't gripping or suspenseful. I think they're just trying to cash in on the Gone Girl phenomenon by marketing so many books as similar reads. Liars! ;D I think I'll pass on this one. Hope your next read is better!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! You said it. (I needed that laugh.) I have no doubt that kind of marketing drives up sales, but it also drives up the disappointment.

      Delete
  3. That is a shame. Don't really like these comparisons either - they raise expectations or just set you off on the wrong tack.
    Lynn :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It really was a bad comparison. The whole blurb was not based in reality. :(

      Delete
  4. 'Who Cares' deserves its own tag on every blog. Goodreads needs in on this!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! That would be a really helpful tag. :)

      Delete
  5. I know it's probably sad but when I see a book compared to Gone Girl, I rarely consider picking it up. I really didn't even like Gone Girl - I despised all characters except for the sister. Sorry you didn't like this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, Barb. I hated everyone in Gone Girl! Honestly, I wasn't a big fan of the book either despite how well crafted it was. BUT. Gone Girl, The Widow, The Girl on the Train, Behind Her Eyes... they were all very compulsive reads for me. Even if the story didn't necessarily work out, the actual reading experience was great. So I will probably continue to pick up books that lie and say they are the same.

      Delete
  6. I am still at least 15% of it that I have started since February. I can't dare to proceed bc of the TV news drama. I want to instantly know where the missing woman is! But if this is what you think of it, I might DNF this by the end of the month. Great rev! I'm enlightened.

    ReplyDelete

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Pinterest!

 
Powered by Blogger