Wednesday, November 13, 2019

On My Wishlist {22}

On My Wishlist is where I share a few books that have recently made it onto my wishlist. These are the books that have recently caught my eye:

Walking to Aldebaran by Adrian Tchaikovsky
Published May 28th 2019 by Solaris



Chilling story of a lost astronaut on an alien artefact from Arthur C. Clarke award-winning Adrian Tchaikovsky

My name is Gary Rendell. I’m an astronaut. When they asked me as a kid what I wanted to be when I grew up, I said, “astronaut, please!” I dreamed astronaut, I worked astronaut, I studied astronaut.

I got lucky; when a probe sent out to explore the Oort Cloud found a strange alien rock and an international team of scientists was put together to go and look at it, I made the draw.

I got even luckier. When disaster hit and our team was split up, scattered through the endless cold tunnels, I somehow survived.

Now I’m lost, and alone, and scared, and there’s something horrible in here.

Lucky me.

Lucky, lucky, lucky.

After reading Mogsy review of the audio for Walking to Aldebaran, I'm convinced I need it in my life!



Architects of Memory by Karen Osborne
Expected publication: August 25th 2020 by Tor Books



Terminally Ill salvage pilot Ash Jackson lost everything in the war with the alien Vai, but she'll be damned if she loses her future. Her plan: to buy, beg, or lie her way out of corporate indenture and fine a cure.

When her crew salvages a genocidal weapon from a ravaged starship above a dead colony, Ash uncovers a conspiracy of corporate intrigue and betrayal that threatens to turn her into a living weapon.
Tammy featured Architects of Memory in her Future Fiction feature. I really want to check it out!



Scary Stories for Young Foxes by Christian McKay Heidicker
Published August 20th 2019 by Henry Holt and Company



Christian McKay Heidicker draws inspiration from Bram Stoker, H. P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allen Poe for his debut middle-grade novel, a thrilling portrait of survival and an unforgettable tale of friendship.

The haunted season has arrived in the Antler Wood. No fox kit is safe.

When Mia and Uly are separated from their litters, they discover a dangerous world full of monsters. In order to find a den to call home, they must venture through field and forest, facing unspeakable things that dwell in the darkness: a zombie who hungers for their flesh, a witch who tries to steal their skins, a ghost who hunts them through the snow . . . and other things too scary to mention.

Featuring eight interconnected stories and sixteen hauntingly beautiful illustrations, Scary Stories for Young Foxes contains the kinds of adventures and thrills you love to listen to beside a campfire in the dark of night. Fans of Neil Gaiman, Jonathan Auxier, and R. L. Stine have found their next favorite book.

Is it possible for a book to be too perfect? I want to find out.





Are you planning to read any of these new or upcoming releases? What books have recently made it onto your wishlist?

Subscribe: Follow: Contact:

8 comments:

  1. I added Walking to Aldebaran after reading Mogsie's review as well😁 Thanks for the shout out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I need to have it. Absolutely! Thanks for sharing it on your blog. You guys keep my TBR toppling over.

      Delete
  2. Walking to Aldebaran does sound kind of awesome. I've been on a bit of a science fiction kick this year and my library has a copy of this one so yay!

    ReplyDelete
  3. So glad to see Walking Aldebaran caught your eye! If you like the humorous voice of The Martian, you'll enjoy this one - add in a touch of horror :)

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  4. How funny - I just put Scary Stories for Young Foxes on my Christmas book list. It sounds awesome and I'm thrilled to see it here as well.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It sounds so awesome! I hope you get it for Christmas.

      Delete

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Pinterest!

 
Powered by Blogger