Wednesday, May 20, 2020

On My Wishlist {30}

On My Wishlist is where I share a few books that have recently made it onto my wishlist. These are the books that have recently caught my eye!

The Bright Lands by John Fram
Expected publication: July 7th 2020 by Hanover Square Press

The Bright Lands by John Fram

The town of Bentley holds two things dear: its football, and its secrets. But when star quarterback Dylan Whitley goes missing, an unremitting fear grips this remote corner of Texas.

Joel Whitley was shamed out of conservative Bentley ten years ago, and while he’s finally made a life for himself as a gay man in New York, his younger brother’s disappearance soon brings him back to a place he thought he’d escaped for good. Meanwhile, Sheriff’s Deputy Starsha Clark stayed in Bentley; Joel’s return brings back painful memories—not to mention questions—about her own missing brother. And in the high school hallways, Dylan’s friends begin to suspect that their classmates know far more than they’re telling the police. Together, these unlikely allies will stir up secrets their town has long tried to ignore, drawing the attention of dangerous men who will stop at nothing to see that their crimes stay buried.

But no one is quite prepared to face the darkness that’s begun to haunt their nightmares, whispering about a place long thought to be nothing but an urban legend: an empty night, a flicker of light on the horizon—The Bright Lands.

Coming from a big football town in small town, Texas, this horror novel is definitely going on my list to read this year.



The Girl and the Ghost by Hanna Alkaf
Expected publication: August 4th 2020 by HarperCollins

Expected publication: August 4th 2020 by HarperCollins

A Malaysian folk tale comes to life in this emotionally layered, chilling middle grade debut, perfect for fans of The Book of Boy and The Jumbies.

I am a dark spirit, the ghost announced grandly. I am your inheritance, your grandmother’s legacy. I am yours to command.

Suraya is delighted when her witch grandmother gifts her a pelesit. She names her ghostly companion Pink, and the two quickly become inseparable.

But Suraya doesn’t know that pelesits have a dark side—and when Pink’s shadows threaten to consume them both, they must find enough light to survive . . . before they are both lost to the darkness.

Fans of Holly Black’s Doll Bones and Tahereh Mafi’s Furthermore series will love this ghostly middle grade debut that explores jealousy, love, and the extraordinary power of friendship.

I'm always on the look out for great MG horror fantasy. I can't wait to read this one!



One by One by Ruth Ware
Expected publication: September 8th 2020 by Scout Press

One by One by Ruth Ware

The #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Turn of the Key and In a Dark Dark Wood returns with another suspenseful thriller set on a snow-covered mountain.

Getting snowed in at a beautiful, rustic mountain chalet doesn’t sound like the worst problem in the world, especially when there’s a breathtaking vista, a cozy fire, and company to keep you warm. But what happens when that company is eight of your coworkers…and you can’t trust any of them?

When an off-site company retreat meant to promote mindfulness and collaboration goes utterly wrong when an avalanche hits, the corporate food chain becomes irrelevant and survival trumps togetherness. Come Monday morning, how many members short will the team be?

Ruth Ware is an author who keeps landing on my wishlist that I haven't actually read. I was pulled in by the secluded, snowy setting, but the coworkers that start killing each other sold it for me!

Have you read or are you planning to read any of these? What books have recently made it onto your wishlist?



This post is being shared as part of Can't-Wait Wednesday over at Wishful Endings.

Jennifer

Subscribe: rss Follow: twitter goodreads Contact: email

12 comments:

  1. I've never read Ruth Ware either, but One by One sounds really good!

    ReplyDelete
  2. These all look and sound good. I hope you eventually get them and enjoy them!

    Tressa @ Wishful Endings

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ruth Ware's upcoming release is on my radar too. I have only read two of her books, but I enjoyed both. The Girl and the Ghost really appeals to me as well. I am adding that to my wish list. I love the cover of The Bright Lands. I hope you enjoy all of these if and when you read them! Thank you for sharing. :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're welcome! I really need to go back and read Ruth Wares previous books.

      Delete
  4. Ooh! I love the cover to the Girl and the Ghost! Great picks!

    Here’s my WoW!

    Ronyell @ Rabbit Ears Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Bright Lands is on my watch list!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'll let you know how it goes if I wind up reading it! :)

      Delete
  6. I saw On the Bright Lands somewhere this week and am super curious about it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It looks good! I'm surprised I'm not seeing it more.

      Delete

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Pinterest!

 
Powered by Blogger