Friday, December 24, 2021

Book Review | The Ash House by Angharad Walker

Source: Preordered purchase. This is a review of my personal reading experience.

The Ash House is a middle grade horror novel by Angharad Walker.

The Ash House by Angharad Walker

 

An unsettling, gripping middle grade debut about searching for a sense of belonging in the wrong places, and the bravery it takes to defy those who seek to control us. This is Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children meets Lord of the Flies for fans of Neil Gaiman and Holly Black.

When Eleven-year-old Sol arrives at the Ash House, desperate for a cure for his complex pain syndrome, he finds a community of strange children long abandoned by their mysterious Headmaster.

The children at the Ash House want the new boy to love their home as much as they do. They give him a name like theirs. They show him the dorms and tell him about the wonderful oasis that the Headmaster has created for them. But the new boy already has a name. Doesn't he? At least he did before he walked through those gates...

This was supposed to be a healing refuge for children like him. Something between a school and a summer camp. With kids like him. With pain like his. But no one is allowed to get sick at the Ash House. NO ONE.

And then The Doctor arrives...

Strange things are about to happen at the mysterious Ash House. And the longer Sol spends on the mysterious grounds, the more he begins to forget who he is, the more the other children begin to distrust him, and the worse his pain becomes. But can he hold onto reality long enough to find an escape? And better yet, can he convince the others?

The Ash House did not work for me.

We are thrown into this story in this ash house with a bunch of boys who don't remember their names and go by weird given names that represent "nicenesses". Don't ask me why about any of this because I couldn't tell you.

The Ash House was not fun to read. The horror of the book focused on sickness and doctor horror without a point to it all.

I don't know what to say about the setting and the world building because I don't know what any of it meant. What was that house and why was it there? Why were the kids there? I was confused while reading it, and I'm left with no answers after finishing it.

There were times the wording felt like it was not written for a middle grade audience. "The children moved like clockwork." "The children stared back." Kids are reading about "the children"? The writing was super repetitive which is a pet peeve of mine.

I will say it's a beautifully made book. The cover got my attention right away, and I loved the interior chapter designs.

The Ash House is a debut middle grade, and I had high hopes for it. It's one of the best middle grade covers I've seen this year. Unfortunately, it's not one that I will pass on to my kids. 

1/5 Stars
 

Jennifer

Subscribe: rss Follow: twitter goodreads Contact: email

3 comments:

  1. So sorry this one was such a disappointing read.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh that's unfortunate. Sorry this one didn't work out!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Sorry to hear this one didn't work for you.

    ReplyDelete

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Instagram!

 
Powered by Blogger