Thursday, February 23, 2023

Review | Come Tumbling Down by Seanan McGuire

Come Tumbling Down is the fifth book in Seanan McGuire's Wayward Children series.

Come Tumbling Down by Seanan McGuire

When Jack left Eleanor West's School for Wayward Children she was carrying the body of her deliciously deranged sister—whom she had recently murdered in a fit of righteous justice—back to their home on the Moors.

But death in their adopted world isn't always as permanent as it is here, and when Jack is herself carried back into the school, it becomes clear that something has happened to her. Something terrible. Something of which only the maddest of scientists could conceive. Something only her friends are equipped to help her overcome.

Eleanor West's "No Quests" rule is about to be broken.


Oof. I'm trying to get back into the habit of reviewing everything I read - including rereads. When I started rereading Come Tumbling Down, I couldn't remember what it was about, but I knew I've liked every book I've read of the series.

Come Tumbling Down was a very mid read. I refrained from reading my original review until after I finished my reread, and I'm just going to post it here:

It's not that I didn't like Come Tumbling Down, I just didn't particularly care for it, either.

Come Tumbling Down can't stand on its own the way the other books in the series can, yet half of the book is spent explaining the characters and the worlds.

I still wholeheartedly recommend this series and I'm anxiously awaiting the next installment... I just don't feel like Come Tumbling Down really added anything new.

Honestly, that still sums it up for me. It's quite forgettable.  

3/5 stars


Subscribe: rss Follow: twitter goodreads Contact: email

1 comment:

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Instagram!

Powered by Blogger