Wednesday, May 10, 2023

On My Wishlist | At the End of Every Day by Arianna Reiche

Wednesdays are for wishlists and books I am anxiously awaiting.

One of the books I am most curious about and anxious to check out is At the End of Every Day by Arianna Reiche. First of all, it's a debut. But Arianna Reiche is being compared to Iain Reid and Jeff VanderMeer. I'm so intrigued! It sounds like it's going to be a weird horror, and I'm absolutely anxious to give it a try.

At the End of Every Day by Arianna Reiche


In this haunting debut novel—perfect for fans of Iain Reid, Jeff VanderMeer, and Julia Armfield—a loyal employee at a collapsing theme park questions the recent death of a celebrity visitor, the arrival of strange new guests, her boyfriend’s erratic behavior, and ultimately her own sanity.

Delphi has spent years working at a vast and iconic theme park in California after fleeing her childhood trauma in her rural hometown. But after the disturbing death of a beloved Hollywood starlet on the park grounds, Delphi is tasked with shuttering The Park for good.

Meanwhile, two siblings with ties to The Park exchange letters, trying to understand why people who work there have been disappearing. Before long, they learn that there’s a reason no one is meant to see behind The Park’s curtain.

What happens when The Park empties out? And what happens when Delphi, who seems remarkably at one with The Park, is finally forced to leave?

At once a novel about the uncanny valley, death cults, optical illusions, and the enduring power of fantasy, Reiche’s debut is a mind-bending teacup ride through an eerily familiar landscape, where the key to it all is what happens At the End of Every Day.

Expected publication: July 4, 2023 by Atria Books

Jennifer

Subscribe: rss Follow: twitter goodreads Contact: email

8 comments:

  1. This made me think of that Kiss movie set in the theme park LOL! I hope this is a hit for you when you read it

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha! I tried to stay kind of blind to the details and didn't realize until I started reading it that it was set in a theme park.

      Delete
  2. For the author to be compared to Iain Reid and Jeff VanderMeer is very much enough to convince me hahah Thanks for sharing! :)

    https://roarsandechoes.com/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! I've started reading and it is holding up.

      Delete
  3. Sounds like a really good one!

    ReplyDelete
  4. This sounds really good! And I love the Jeff VanderMeer comparisonšŸ˜

    ReplyDelete

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Instagram!

 
Powered by Blogger