Wednesday, January 8, 2020

On My Wishlist {25}

On My Wishlist is where I share a few books that have recently made it onto my wishlist. These are the books that have recently caught my eye:

The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo

The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo
Expected publication: March 24th 2020 by Tor.com

With the heart of an Atwood tale and the visuals of a classic Asian period drama The Empress of Salt and Fortune is a tightly and lushly written narrative about empire, storytelling, and the anger of women.

A young royal from the far north is sent south for a political marriage. Alone and sometimes reviled, she has only her servants on her side. This evocative debut chronicles her rise to power through the eyes of her handmaiden, at once feminist high fantasy and a thrilling indictment of monarchy.

This upcoming Tor.com novella was highly recommended to me by Toni at Misadventures of a Reader. I can't wait to read this one.



The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix
Expected publication: April 7th 2020 by Quirk Books

The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

Fried Green Tomatoes and Steel Magnolias meet Dracula in this Southern-flavored supernatural thriller set in the '90s about a women's book club that must protect its suburban community from a mysterious and handsome stranger who turns out to be a blood-sucking fiend.

Patricia Campbell had always planned for a big life, but after giving up her career as a nurse to marry an ambitious doctor and become a mother, Patricia's life has never felt smaller. The days are long, her kids are ungrateful, her husband is distant, and her to-do list is never really done. The one thing she has to look forward to is her book club, a group of Charleston mothers united only by their love for true-crime and suspenseful fiction. In these meetings, they're more likely to discuss the FBI's recent siege of Waco as much as the ups and downs of marriage and motherhood.

But when an artistic and sensitive stranger moves into the neighborhood, the book club's meetings turn into speculation about the newcomer. Patricia is initially attracted to him, but when some local children go missing, she starts to suspect the newcomer is involved. She begins her own investigation, assuming that he's a Jeffrey Dahmer or Ted Bundy. What she uncovers is far more terrifying, and soon she--and her book club--are the only people standing between the monster they've invited into their homes and their unsuspecting community.

I plan to read everything Grady Hendrix writes. That is all.



The Book of Koli (Rampart Trilogy #1) by M.R. Carey
Expected publication: April 14th 2020 by Orbit

The Book of Koli (Rampart Trilogy #1) by M.R. Carey

The first in a gripping new trilogy, The Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to find his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and Annihilation.

Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. A world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don't get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will.

Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He knows the first rule of survival is that you don't venture beyond the walls.

What he doesn't know is -- what happens when you aren't given a choice?

This new trilogy sounds like something I would love to get hooked on.



Are you planning to read any of these upcoming releases? What books have recently made it onto your wishlist?

Jennifer

Subscribe: rss Follow: twitter goodreads Contact: email

10 comments:

  1. All of these!! Book of Koli and the Grady Hendrix book (I just don't want to type that title, lol) are probably in my top three most anticipated books this year😁

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL, it's such a long title! :) I'm excited for it!

      Delete
  2. I have an arc of the Hendrix book and I hope to read The Empress of Salt and Fortune and let's be honest, it's mainly because of the cover. Great choices!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ahhhh, they all look so good. Stop doing this to me :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. That book club one sounds kind of awesome. I'm adding that one to my list. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Book of Koli and the new Grady Hendrix are on my list too!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Pinterest!

 
Powered by Blogger