Wednesday, January 22, 2020

On My Wishlist {27}

On My Wishlist is where I share a few books that have recently made it onto my wishlist. These are the books that have recently caught my eye:

The Long Home by William Gay
Published November 1st 1999 by MacMurray & Beck

The Long Home by William Gay

In a literary voice that is both original and powerfully unsettling, William Gay tells the story of Nathan Winer, a young and headstrong Tennessee carpenter who lost his father years ago to a human evil that is greater and closer at hand than any the boy can imagine - until he learns of it first-hand. Gay's remarkable debut novel, The Long Home, is also the story of Amber Rose, a beautiful young woman forced to live beneath that evil who recognizes even as a child that Nathan is her first and last chance at escape. And it is the story of William Tell Oliver, a solitary old man who watches the growing evil from the dark woods and adds to his own weathered guilt by failing to do anything about it. Set in rural Tennessee in the 1940s, The Long Home will bring to mind once again the greatest Southern novelists and will haunt the reader with its sense of solitude , longing, and the deliverance that is always just out of reach.

It was this tweet from Andy Davidson that put The Long Home on my radar:





Girls Save the World in This One by Ash Parsons
Expected publication: April 14th 2020 by Philomel Books

Girls Save the World in This One by Ash Parsons

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention—featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse.

June’s whole life has been leading up to this: ZombieCon, the fan convention celebrating all things zombies. She and her two best friends plan on hitting all the panels, photo ops, and meeting the heartthrob lead of their favorite zombie apocalypse show Human Wasteland.

And when they arrive everything seems perfect, though June has to shrug off some weirdness from other fans—people shambling a little too much, and someone actually biting a cast member. Then all hell breaks loose and June and her friends discover the truth: real zombies are taking over the con. Now June must do whatever it takes to survive a horde of actual brain-eating zombies—and save the world. This is a hilarious and heartfelt horror comedy, an ode to zombies, friendship, and girl power that readers are going to love.

This YA horror comedy is 100% what I need this year!



Consider This: Moments in My Writing Life after Which Everything Was Different by Chuck Palahniuk
Published January 7th 2020 by Grand Central Publishing

Consider This: Moments in My Writing Life after Which Everything Was Different by Chuck Palahniuk

Renowned, bestselling novelist Chuck Palahniuk takes us behind the scenes of the writing life, with postcards from decades on the road and incredible examination of the power of fiction and the art of storytelling.

In this spellbinding blend of memoir and insight, bestselling author Chuck Palahniuk shares stories and generous advice on what makes writing powerful and what makes for powerful writing.

With advice grounded in years of careful study and a keenly observed life, Palahniuk combines practical advice and concrete examples from beloved classics, his own books, and a"kitchen-table MFA" culled from an evolving circle of beloved authors and artists, with anecdotes, postcards from the road, and much more.

Clear-eyed, sensitive, illuminating, and knowledgeable, Consider This is Palahniuk's love letter to stories and storytellers, booksellers and books themselves. Consider it a classic in the making.

I love reading about writing, and this sounds like a book I need in a life.



Have you read or are you planning to read any of these? What books have recently made it onto your wishlist?

Jennifer

Subscribe: rss Follow: twitter goodreads Contact: email

12 comments:

  1. Girls Save the World sounds like so much fun! And that cover for Palahniuk's book is very disturbing 😬

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does sound like fun! I'm really into the Palahniuk cover. :)

      Delete
  2. Girls Save the World in This One is high on my wishlist, too. It looks like a lot of fun. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have been eyeing Girls Save the World in This One. I mean, they name drop one of my favorite films of all time.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I need a YA horror comedy in my life too. Thanks for sharing it!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow, I haven't read a Chuck Palahniuk book in a long time, probably in close to 20 years. This does make me quite curious about Consider This!

    ~Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    ReplyDelete
  6. Girls Save The World In This One sounds awesome. I love that title. :)

    ReplyDelete

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Pinterest!

 
Powered by Blogger