Thursday, December 10, 2020

Book Review | The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

The Space Between Worlds is a debut science fiction novel by Micaiah Johnson.

The Space Between Worlds by Micaiah Johnson

An outsider who can travel between worlds discovers a secret that threatens her new home and her fragile place in it, in a stunning sci-fi debut that’s both a cross-dimensional adventure and a powerful examination of identity, privilege, and belonging.

Multiverse travel is finally possible, but there’s just one catch: No one can visit a world where their counterpart is still alive. Enter Cara, whose parallel selves happen to be exceptionally good at dying—from disease, turf wars, or vendettas they couldn’t outrun. Cara’s life has been cut short on 372 worlds in total.

On this Earth, however, Cara has survived. Identified as an outlier and therefore a perfect candidate for multiverse travel, Cara is plucked from the dirt of the wastelands. Now she has a nice apartment on the lower levels of the wealthy and walled-off Wiley City. She works—and shamelessly flirts—with her enticing yet aloof handler, Dell, as the two women collect off-world data for the Eldridge Institute. She even occasionally leaves the city to visit her family in the wastes, though she struggles to feel at home in either place. So long as she can keep her head down and avoid trouble, Cara is on a sure path to citizenship and security.

But trouble finds Cara when one of her eight remaining doppelgängers dies under mysterious circumstances, plunging her into a new world with an old secret. What she discovers will connect her past and her future in ways she could have never imagined—and reveal her own role in a plot that endangers not just her world, but the entire multiverse.

 
I read The Space Between Worlds over my Thanksgiving break, and I can't believe I haven't taken the time to post a review for it yet. It's without a doubt going to wind up on my best of the year list. I can't believe this is a debut! I'm excited to see what Micaiah Johnson comes up with next.

The Space Between Worlds is a multiverse story. In this reality, they have discovered a way to travel between the dimensions, but you can only travel to a world where you have died and therefore do not exist. There are so many things that make this a great novel! I flew through it in just a couple of days.

This book is perfect for fans of Blake Crouch's Recursion. I was excited to see it rank so highly in the Goodreads Choice Awards. It got my vote!

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
5/5 stars


Jennifer

Subscribe: rss Follow: twitter goodreads Contact: email

9 comments:

  1. Wow, I can't believe I haven't read this! I knew about it but just had too many books to read. I'm definitely going to track down a copy now, especially with that Recursion comparison!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, I hope you are able to track down a copy because I really want to hear your thoughts!

      Delete
  2. Yay...I'm so glad this one ended up being such a good read. It's high on my TBR list. :D

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh cool, I absolutely loved Crouch's Recursion so will definitely have to read this book. It sounds brilliant!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love parallel worlds and dimension hopping and all that, so I'd probably love this. the Recursion comparison doesn't hurt either. Glad this was good! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you get a chance to check it out. I'd love to hear what you think.

      Delete

  5. That is a very good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere.
    Short but very accurate info… Appreciate your sharing this one. A must read post.

    My web site -
    강남안마

    (freaky)

    ReplyDelete

Follow Me on Twitter! RSS Feed Email Me! Friend Me on Goodreads! Follow Me on Instagram!

 
Powered by Blogger